Welcome

The Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety is hosting the 2nd European Congress "European Cities and their heritage" in Berlin on 8 and 9 December 2016. This year's topic is "The faces of history in European cities".

Compact urban structures, historical buildings from different eras and a vibrant functional diversity are features that make European cities unique. The ever changing needs and requirements to be met by cities across the centuries have furnished our cities with a wide range of buildings and urban structures. This superimposition and parallel evolution of architectural developments gave rise to different layers of history which can still be seen today in every European city.

The 2nd European Congress "European Cities and their heritage" focuses on opportunities and possibilities for using visible and hidden layers of history as starting points for the future-oriented development of European cities. Building on the first European Congress in 2011 "The Heritage of the City - Europe's Future", the Federal Environment Ministry is continuing the Europe-wide discourse on holistic urban development and the protection of the urban architectural heritage. Experts and stakeholders are meeting for a two-day exchange of experience to reflect across national borders on similarities and connections as well as on differences and divisions and to draw up recommendations for action for the future of European cities.

Decision-makers, urban planners, architects, heritage conservationists, scientists, urban researchers, active citizens and other interested parties across Europe are cordially invited to participate in a discussion with renowned experts on future-oriented approaches to layers of history in cities. Participants will be provided with different formats for engaging in discussions and obtaining information, e.g. plenary presentations, arena discussions and panel discussions.

to top ↑

2nd European Congress - European cities and their Heritage
topic: The faces of history in European cities //
08./09. December 2016 bcc Berlin

Willkommen

Das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit lädt am 8. und 9. Dezember 2016 zum 2. Europäischen Kongress „Die europäische Stadt und ihr Erbe“ nach Berlin ein. Kongressthema sind die „Zeitschichten in der europäischen Stadt“.

Kompakte städtische Strukturen, historische Bausubstanz unterschiedlicher Epochen und eine lebendige Nutzungsmischung machen die Städte Europas einzigartig. Sich ständige ändernde Anforderungen und Bedürfnisse an die Stadt haben im Laufe der Jahrhunderte eine Vielfalt von Bauten und städtischen Strukturen mit sich gebracht. Aus der Überlagerung und dem Nebeneinander baugeschichtlicher Entwicklungen lassen sich heute deshalb in jeder europäischen Stadt eigene Zeitschichten ablesen.

Der 2. Europäische Kongress „Die europäische Stadt und ihr Erbe“ rückt Chancen und Möglichkeiten der sichtbaren und verborgenen Zeitschichten als Anknüpfungspunkte für eine zukunftsgerichtete Entwicklung europäischer Städte in den Fokus. Damit setzt das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit, aufbauend auf den ersten Europäischen Kongress im Jahr 2011, den europaweiten Diskurs zur bestandsorientierten Stadtentwicklung und zum städtebaulichen Denkmalschutz fort. Experten und Akteure treffen sich zu einem zweitägigen Erfahrungsaustausch mit dem Ziel, Gemeinsames und Verbindendes sowie Unterschiedliches und Trennendes über Ländergrenzen hinweg zu reflektieren und Handlungsempfehlungen für die Zukunft der Städte in Europa abzuleiten.

Entscheider, Stadtplaner, Architekten, Denkmalpfleger, Wissenschaftler, Stadtforscher, engagierte Bürger und Bürgerinnen sowie weitere Interessierte aus ganz Europa sind herzlich eingeladen, sich mit renommierten Fachexperten zu einem zukunftsorientierten Umgang mit Zeitschichten in der Stadt auszutauschen. Unterschiedliche Formate, wie Vorträge im Plenum, Diskussionsarenen und Podiumsrunden bieten vielfältige Möglichkeiten zum Diskurs und zum persönlichen Wissensgewinn.

 

nach oben ↑

2. Europäischer Kongress „Die europäische Stadt und ihr Erbe“
Thema: Zeitschichten der europäischen Stadt //
8. - 9. Dezember 2016 bcc Berlin